Welcome, bienvenue, fáilte (and that’s my stock of Irish words exhausted already…)

October 15th, 2012. A week or so before my 35th birthday, and the day that the Irish Writing Blog came into the world.

As far as mission statements go, you won’t find anything too developed here. I just wanted to read as much as I could about Irish literature, and I struggled to find a single place that would serve as even a half-arsed one-stop-shop, so I decided to give this a go.

The blog’s origins owed something to the launch of a 28-story collection, a Chinese Nobel Prize winner and a couple of poetry festivals in New York. (You can read a little more about the history on the “About” page.)

Whether it will survive and prosper, or become just another decent idea that floundered on the rocks of passivity, I couldn’t possibly say just yet. But in common with most Irish men of a certain age I find myself responding energetically to both flattery and abuse, so I’d welcome any comments you have. As long as they’re related to words on a page between two cardboard covers of varying pliability, I’m interested.

There’s also an RSS feed lurking around the place somewhere; if you find it feel free to subscribe.

Till next time.

Shane

Leave a Reply

